Announcing Faculty Merit Awardees 2020-2021

July 29, 2021

Dear AUC Community, 

The Faculty Merit Award is one of the most significant announcements of the year. It is the most awaited award to recognize the faculty's efforts and contributions to AUC. 

AUC faculty, you are the main pillar of our success. Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Merit Award recipients who continue to drive AUC's progress as an academic institution. You worked so hard for this, and you have been deservedly rewarded for that effort.

Unfortunately, the circumstances we have been facing due to the Covid 19 pandemic deprived us of practicing our regular activities to acknowledge the amazing work that our faculty have accomplished for the past year. It is important that we take time to shine the light of recognition on these innovative and dedicated members of our university family. 

The Faculty Merit Awards recognize three categories of faculty excellence outstanding contribution to Teaching, Research and Creative Endeavors, and Academic Service by members of the American University in Cairo faculty. This year's award will include two winners for each category as it was withheld last year for process improvement.

The 2020-2021 Merit Award for Academic Service recipients are:

Sanaa Makhlouf, Department of Rhetoric and Composition (first place).

Helen Rizzo, Department of Sociology, Egyptology and Anthropology (second place). 

The 2020-2021 Merit Award for Research and Creative Endeavors recipients are:

Karim Seddik, Department of Electronics and Communications Engineering(first place). 

Mustafa Arafa, Department of Mechanical Engineering (second place). 

The 2020-2021 Merit Award for Teaching recipients are:

Fikry Boutros, Department of Rhetoric and Composition (first place).

Mayyada El-SayedDepartment of Chemistry (second place).

I would like to thank the committee members for their extensive efforts in reviewing over 25 submissions made this year. Congratulations to all of the faculty award recipients for 2020-2021.


Ehab Abdel-Rahman