University Research Board



The mission of the University Research Board (URB) is to encourage and support quality research across all disciplines at The American University in Cairo. The URB promotes basic, innovative and applied research, inter and multidisciplinary research, and production of scholarly and creative works. In accordance with the mission of the University, the URB supports research that addresses the multiple challenges faced by Egypt and the region. The URB recognizes the crucial importance of freedom of thought and expression to research excellence and the advancement of knowledge. It serves as an advocate for adherence to high standards of research ethics, integrity and conduct.



The URB provides oversight, guidance, and coordination of research activities at the University. URB responsibilities include the following:

  • Develop policies, establish guidelines and set forth regulations on matters relating to research
  • Advise the provost and the vice provost for research on the implementation of policies pertaining to research funding, long-term faculty development and visiting scholars supported by AUC office of research
  • Advise the vice provost for research on matters relating to research
  • Arbitrate and recommend action to the provost on any disputes or differences on intellectual property issues related to proposals, deliverables, publications or other research products
  • Advise the provost and the vice provost for research on matters concerning research ethics, integrity and conduct
  • Review faculty support grants (as detailed in the faculty support grants guidelines)



The University Research Board is a standing committee charged by the provost with the responsibility of creating an atmosphere for the encouragement of research. Chaired by the vice provost for research, the committee is composed of:

Concerned associate deans of:

  • School of Sciences and Engineering
  • School of Humanities and Social Sciences
  • School of Business
  • School of Global Affairs and Public Policy

Dean of Graduate Studies

Director of Technology Transfer Office

Director of Office of Sponsored Programs 

Ex-officio: Associate Provost for Research, Innovation and Creativity (Chair) 


2017 - 2018 Composition

  1. Alaa-Eldin Adris (Chair) 
  2. Adham Ramadan
  3. Marco Pinfari
  4. Laila El Baradei
  5. Nizar Becheikh 
  6. Amal Esawi
  7. Dinal Adly
  8. Ahmed Ellaithy



Summary of RAC Questionnaire - October 2010
Strengthening Research at AUC - May 2005 
Strengthening Research at AUC - May 2004
Faculty Views on their Research Effort at AUC - May 2003
Strengthening Research at AUC - May 2002