Courses

 

 

The below table shows the current Community-Based Learning courses offered at AUC. The list includes the names of instructors and their contact information.

 

Course Title Professor and Email Department

Sel Topics in PSYC: Psych of Sustainable Behavior

Kate Ellis Psychology
  kate.ellis@aucegypt.edu  
Course Title Professor and Email Department
Labor Economics Dina Abdel Fattah - Mona Said Economics
  dmoh40@aucegypt.edu  
  mona_said@aucegypt.edu  
Labor Economics Nabila AL-Iskandarani Economics
 

nabilais@aucegypt.edu

 
Labor Economics Nabila AL-Iskandarani Economics
  nabilais@aucegypt.edu  
Labor Economics John Salevurakis

Economics

  jsalevurakis@aucegypt.edu  
Environmental and Natural Resource Economics Abeer El Shennawy Economics
  ashenawy@aucegypt.edu  
Personal Growth and Adjustment Hala Nadia AbdAl Hak Psychology
  halaahak@aucegypt.edu  
Community Psychology Ithar Hassaballa Psychology
  ithar.hassaballa@aucegypt.edu  
Social Psychology Sherine Ramzy Psychology
  sheramzy@aucegypt.edu  
Participatory Action Research in Community Settings Yasmine Moataz Ahmed Sociology
  yasminemoataz@aucegypt.edu  
Introduction to Community Development  Noha Ezz El Din Ismail Sociology
  nohaezz@aucegypt.edu  
Writing for Project Funding Michael Gibson Rhetoric & Composition
  mgibson@aucegypt.edu  
Problematic Landscapes, Marginalized Inhabitants Brooke Comer Rhetoric & Composition
  brooke_c@aucegypt.edu  
Problematic Landscapes, Marginalized Inhabitants Brooke Comer Rhetoric & Composition
  brooke_c@aucegypt.edu  
Problematic Landscapes, Marginalized Inhabitants Brooke Comer Rhetoric & Composition
  brooke_c@aucegypt.edu  

Principles and Practice of Teaching English

Nagwa Kassabgy Linguistics
  nkassabgy@aucegypt.edu  
Principles and Practice of Teaching English Yasmine Aly Salah El-Din Linguistics
 

yasmine@aucegypt.edu

 

 

Course Title  Professor and Email Department
Labor Economics Magda Assaad Economics
  m.assaad@aucegypt.edu  
Labor Economics Nabila AL-Iskandarani Economics
 

nabilais@aucegypt.edu

 
Labor Economics

Dina Abdel Fattah - Mona Said

Economics
 

dmoh40@aucegypt.edu

 
 

mona_said@aucegypt.edu

 
Labor Economics

Nabila AL-Iskandarani

Economics
 

nabilais@aucegypt.edu

 

Environmental and Natural Resource Economics

Abeer El Shinawy

Economics
 

ashenawy@aucegypt.edu

 

Community Psychology

Farah Hafez Elshiaty

Psychology

 

shiaty@aucegypt.edu 

 

Community Psychology

Ithar Hassaballa Hassaballa

Psychology
 

ithar.hassaballa@aucegypt.edu

 

Educational Psychology

Heba Mohamed Kotb

Psychology

 

hebakotb@aucegypt.edu

 

Advanced Community Psychology

Mona Amer

Psychology
 

monaamer@aucegypt.edu

 

Social Problems of the Middle East

Nadine Hani Abdalla

Sociology

 

nadine.abdalla@aucegypt.edu

 

Social Problems of the Middle East

Tahreer Abed Araj

Sociology
 

tahreer@aucegypt.edu

 

Practicum in Community Psychology

Tahreer Abed Araj

Sociology
  tahreer@aucegypt.edu  

Research Writing: Problematized Landscapes, Marginalized Inhabitants 

Brooke Comer

Rhetoric & Composition

 

brooke_c@aucegypt.edu

 
Research Writing: Problematized Landscapes, Marginalized Inhabitants  Brooke Comer Rhetoric & Composition
 
 

brooke_c@aucegypt.edu

 
Research Writing: Problematized Landscapes, Marginalized Inhabitants  Brooke Comer Rhetoric & Composition
 

brooke_c@aucegypt.edu

 

Writing Children's Literature

Aliaa Hamad

Rhetoric & Composition

 

aliaanabil@aucegypt.edu 

 

Principles and Practice of Teaching English

Yasmine Aly Salah El-Din

Linguistics

 

yasmine@aucegypt.edu

 

Principles and Practice of Teaching English

Nagwa Kassabgy

Linguistics

 

nkassabgy@aucegypt.edu

 

Skills in Development Practice

Ibrahim Elnur

Political Science

 

ielnur@aucegypt.edu

 

 

 

Course Title  Professor and Email Department
Psych of Sustainable Behavior Kate Ellis Psychology
  kate.ellis@aucegypt.edu  

 

 

Course Title  Professor and Email Department

Management of Development Programs

Khaled Mahmoud Abdelhalim 

Public Policy and Administration

 

kabdelhalim@aucegypt.edu

 

Principles and Practice of Teaching English

Nagwa Kassabgy

Applied Linguistics

 

nkassabgy@aucegypt.edu

 

Principles and Practice of Teaching English

Yasmine Aly-Salah El-Din

Applied Linguistics

 

yasmine@aucegypt.edu

 

Writing for Publication

Brooke Comer

Rhetoric and Composition

 

brooke_c@aucegypt.edu

 

Problematized Landscapes, Marginalized Inhabitants

Brooke Comer

Rhetoric and Composition

  brooke_c@aucegypt.edu  

Writing for Project Funding 

Michael Gibson

Rhetoric and Composition

 

mgibson@aucegypt.edu

 

Personal Growth and Adjustment

Hala Abd Al Meguid Abd Alhak

Psychology

 

halaahak@aucegypt.edu

 

Community Psychology

Farah El Shiaty

Psychology
  shiaty@aucegypt.edu  

Labor Economics

TBA

Economics

     

Labor Economics

Dina Abd Elfattah

Economics

 

dmoh40@aucegypt.edu

 

Labor Economics

TBA

Economics

     
Labor Economics TBA Economics
     

Environmental and Natural Resource Economics

Abeer Elshinnawy

Economics
 

ashenawy@aucegypt.edu

 

Participatory Action Research in Community Settings

Tahreer Abed Araj 

Sociology

 

tahreer@aucegypt.edu 

 

Social Movements

Amber Murrey-Ndewa

Sociology
 

amber.murrey-ndewa@aucegypt.edu

 

Social Movements

Amber Murrey-Ndewa Sociology
  amber.murrey-ndewa@aucegypt.edu  

Introduction to Community Development 

Tahreer Abed Araj  Sociology
  tahreer@aucegypt.edu   

Social Problems of the Middle East

Sherine Ramzy

Sociology
 

sheramzy@aucegypt.edu

 

 

 

Course Title  Professor and Email Department

Principles and Practice of Teaching English

Nagwa Kassabgy

Applied Linguistics

 

nkassabgy@aucegypt.edu

 

Principles and Practice of Teaching English

Mariah Jane Fairley 

Applied Linguistics
 

mariah@aucegypt.edu 

 

Educational Psychology

Heba Kotb

Psychology

 

hebakotb@aucegypt.edu

 

Community Psychology

Hana Mohamed Sherif Shahin

Psychology
 

hshahin@aucegypt.edu 

 

Advanced Community Psychology

Mona Amer

Psychology
 

monaamer@aucegypt.edu 

 

Hieroglyphics IV; Ancient Egyptian Religion; Culture and society

Fayza Haikal

Egyptology

 

fhaikal@aucegypt.edu 

 

Practicum in Community Development 

Tahreer Abdallah Araj

Sociology/Anthropology/Psychology

 

tahreer@aucegypt.edu 

 

Social Problems of the Middle East

Tahreer Abdallah Araj

Sociology/Anthropology/Psychology
  tahreer@aucegypt.edu   

Skills in Development

Ibrahim Elnur

Political Science 

 

ielnur@aucegypt.edu 

 

Seminar: 20th Century Egypt 

Mustapha Al-Sayyid

Political Science 

 

mustapha@aucegupt.edu

 

Research Writing - Problematized Landscapes and Marginalized Inhabitants

Brooke Comer

Rhetoric and Composition

 

brooke_c@aucegypt.edu

 
Research Writing - Problematized Landscapes and Marginalized Inhabitants Brooke Comer

 

Rhetoric and Composition

  brooke_c@aucegypt.edu  
Research Writing - Problematized Landscapes and Marginalized Inhabitants Brooke Comer Rhetoric and Composition
  brooke_c@aucegypt.edu  

Non-profit Management

Artan Karini

Public Policy and Administration

 

artan.karini@aucegypt.edu

 

Practical Training

Khalid Nassar

Construction Engineering

 

knassar@aucegypt.edu

 

Labor Economics

John Salevurakis

Economics

 

jsalevurakis@aucegypt.edu

 
Labor Economics

Dina Abel fattah

Economics
 

dmoh40@aucegypt.edu

 
Labor Economics

Nabila Al-Iskandarani

Economics
 

nabilais@aucegypt.edu 

 
Labor Economics Nabila Al-Iskandarani

Economics

  nabilais@aucegypt.edu   

Environmental and Natural Resource Economics

Abeer Elshinnawy

Economics
 

ashenawy@aucegypt.edu

 

Celebrating Ideas: A Voyage Through Books, film, Art and Theater

Richard Byford

Seminar

 

richard@aucegypt.edu 

 

 

 

Course Title  Professor and Email Department

Writing for Project Funding

Anthony Leone

Rhetoric and Composition

 

aleone@aucegypt.edu

 

Writing Children's Literature

Richard Hoath

Rhetoric and Composition

 

rhoath@aucegypt.edu

 

Social Justice, Tolerance and Acceptance of the Other

Brooke Comer

brooke_c@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition

Changing Words Changing Worlds

Wafaa Wali

mishca@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition

Cross Cultural Communication Brooke Comer Rhetoric and Composition
  brooke_c@aucegypt.edu  

Labor Economics

Magda Asaad

Economics

 

m.assaad@aucegypt.edu

 

Labor Economics

Nabila Al-Iskandarani

Economics

 

nabilais@aucegypt.edu 

 

Personal Growth and Adjustment

Hala Abd Al Meguid Abd Al Hak

Psychology

 

halaahak@aucegypt.edu

 

Advanced Community Psychology

Mona Amer

monaamer@aucegypt.edu

Psychology

Community Psychology

Hana Mohamed Sherif Shahin

Psychology

 

hshahin@aucegypt.edu

 
Consultation to Non-Profit Organizations Carie Forden Psychology
  cforden@aucegypt.edu  

Principles and Practice of Teaching English

Nagwa Kassabgy

nkassabgy@aucegypt.edu

Linguistics

Participation Action Research in Community Settings

Tahreer Abed Araj

tahreer@aucegypt.edu

Sociology/Anthropology/Psychology

Social Problems of the Middle East Sherine Ramzy Sociology
  sheramzy@aucegypt.edu  
Introduction to Community Development Tahreer Abed Araj Sociology
  tahreer@aucegypt.edu  

Values, Activism and the New Egypt

Sherif Abdel Azeem

shazeem@aucegypt.edu

Seminar

 

   
Course Title  Professor and Email Department
Writing Children's Literature

Yasmine Motawy

​ymotawy@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition
Research Writing: Marginalized People and the Landscapes They Inhabit 

Brooke Comer

brooke_c@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition

Selected Topics for Core Curriculum:
Rhetoric of Social Injustice

Brooke Comer

brooke_c@aucegypt.edu

Core Curriculum
Labor Economics

John Salevurakis

​jsalevurakis@aucegypt.edu

Economics
Labor Economics

Nabila Al-Iskandarani

​nabilais@aucegypt.edu

Economics    

Principles of Practice of Teaching English as a Foreign Language

Nagwa Kassabgy

​nkassabgy@aucegypt.edu

Linguistics

Advanced Community Psychology

Andrea Nicole Emanuel

andrea.emanuel@aucegypt.edu

Psychology

Personal Growth and Adjustment

Hala Nadia Abdel Hak

halaahak@aucegypt.edu

Psychology

Prevention and Intervention in Communities is CBL

Carie Forden

​cforden@aucegypt.edu

Psychology

Philosophical Thinking

Mathew Crippen

​crippenm@aucegypt.edu

Philosophy

Social Movements

Amy Holmes

holmes@aucegypt.edu

Sociology

Social Problems of the Middle East

Nazek Nosseir

​nazek@aucegypt.edu

Sociology

Social Problems of the Middle East

Pandeli Glavanis

​pandeli@aucegypt.edu

Sociology

Social Problems of the Middle East

Tahreer Araj

​tahreer@aucegypt.edu

Sociology

Introduction to International Business

Nellie Elenany

Management

 

nellie.elenany@aucegypt.edu

 

Special Topics in Finance: Collaborative Governance and Access to Finance

Chariloas Mertzanis

Management
 

charilaos.mertzanis@aucegypt.edu

   

Business Environment and Ethics

Dina Sherif

Management
     

 

   
Course Title Professor and Email Department
Social Movements

Amy Kristen Holmes

holmes@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Social Problems of the Middle East

Nazek Khalil Nosseir

nazek@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Social Problems of the Middle East

Pandeli Glavanis

pandeli@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Social Problems of the Middle East

Sherine Ahmed Ramzy

sheramzy@aucegypt.ed

Sociology
Introduction to Community Development

Tahreer Araj

tahreer@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Social Statistics

Ayman Zohry

azohry@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Community Psychology

Mona Magid Amer

monaamer@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Personal Growth and Adjustment

Hala Nadia Abdel-Hak

halaahak@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Personal Growth and Adjustment 

Noha El Nahas

n.elnahas@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Labor Economics

Magda Assaad

m.assaad@aucegypt.edu

Economics
Labor Economics

Nabila Al-Iskandarani

nabilais@aucegypt.edu

Economics

 

   
Course Title Professor and Email Department
Skills in Development Practice

Ibrahim El Nur

ielnur@aucegypt.edu

Political Science
Personal Growth and Adjustment

Hala A. Abdel-Hak

halaahak@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Community Psychology

Carie Forden

cforden@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Abnormal Psychology

Aly Mokhtar

amokhtar@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Abnormal Psychology

Ola Morsi

olamansour@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Abnormal Psychology

Kate Ellis

kate.ellis@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Prevention and Invention in Communities

Carie Forden

cforden@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Advanced Community Psychology Service: Applied Research and Learning

Andrea Nicole Emanuel

andrea.emanuel@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Introduction to Psychology

Evette Khair

evette@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Special Topics Forensic Psychology

Kate Ellis

kate.ellis@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Introduction to Psychology

Kate Ellis

kate.ellis@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Introduction to Psychology

Noha El Nahas

n.elnahas@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Community Assessment and Program Evaluation 

Andrea Nicole Emanuel

andrea.emanuel@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Participatory Action Research in Community Settings

Tahreer Araj

tahreer@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Third World Development

Pandeli Glavanis

pandeli@aucegypt.ed

 
Social Problems of the Middle East

Nazek Nosseir

nazek@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Doing Survey in Social Sciences

Nazek Nosseir

nazek@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Social Movements

Amy Holmes

holmes@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Social Problems

Sherine Ramzy

sheramzy@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Transmission of Culture

Fayza Mohamed Haikal

fhaikal@aucegypt.edu

Egyptology
Pyramids, Hieroglyphs and Mummies

Lisa Sabbahy

isabbahy@aucegypt.edu

Egyptology
Ancient Egypt: An Introduction

Mariam Ayad

m.ayad@aucegypt.edu

Egyptology
Introduction to Egyptian Architecture

Louise Bertini

bertini@aucegypt.edu

Egyptology
Hieroglyphics II

Mariam Ayad

m.ayad@acuegypt.edu

Egyptology
Art and Architecture of Ancient Egypt II

Salima Ikram

salima@aucegypt.edu

Egyptology
History of Ancient Egypt II

Lisa Sabbahy

isabbahy@aucegypt.edu

Egyptology
Culture and Society of Ancient Egypt

Fayza Mohamed Haikal

fhaikal@aucegypt.edu

Egyptology
Culture and Power in the Ancient World

John Swanson

swansonj@aucegypt.edu

Egyptology
Tutankhamon and his Times

Nozomu Kawal

kozomu.kawai@aucegypt.edu

Egyptology
Death and Burial in Ancient Egypt

Salima Ikram

salima@aucegypt.edu

Egyptology
Civic Engagement

Anthony Leone

aleone@aucegypt.edu

Core Curriculum
Writing for Project Funding

Anthony Leone

aleone@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition
Writing for Children

Yasmine Motawy

ymotawy@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition
Labor Economics

Nabila Al-Iskandarani

nabilais@aucegypt.edu

Economics
Labor Economics

Magda Assaad

m.assaad@aucegypt.edu

Economics
Principles and Practice of Teaching English

Suzanne Rizzo

srizzo@aucegypt.edu

Linguistics
Principles and Practice of Teaching English

Nagwa Kassabgy

nkassabgy@aucegypt.edu

Linguistics
Beauty and Reason in Arabic and Islamic Civilization 

Amira Abou-Taleb

ataleb@aucegypt.edu

Arab and Islamic Civilizations
Future of Life of Planet Earth and Beyond

Alaa Ibrahim

ai@aucegypt.edu

Physics
Scientific Thinking

Alaa Ibrahim

ai@aucegypt.edu

Science
Research Writing: Development

Mark Mikhael

mrmikhael@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition 
Non-profit Management

Shahjahan Bhuiyan

sbhuiyan@aucegypt.edu

Public Policy and Administration
Introduction to Diplomacy and Security

Sameh Aboul Enein

samehenein@aucegypt.edu

Public Policy and Administrion 
Management of Development

Khaled Abdel Halim

kabdelhalim@aucegypt.edu

Public Policy and Administration
Greening the Built Environment

Khaled Abdel Halim

kabdelhalim@aucegypt.edu

Public Policy and Administration

 

   
Course Title Professor and Email Department
Introduction to Political Science

Gamal Soltan

gsoltan@aucegypt.edu

Political Science
Future of Life of Planet Earth and Beyond

Alaa Ibrahim

ai@aucegypt.edu

Physics
Personal Growth and Adjustment

Hala A. Abdel-Hak

halaahak@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Community Psychology

Andrea Nicole Emanuel

andrea.emanuel@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Introduction to Community Development

Lamia Bulbul

lamiabulbul@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Social Problems of the Middle East

Pandeli Glavanis

pandeli@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Social Problems of the Middle East

Nazek Nosseir

nazek@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Social Movements

Amy Holmes

holmes@aucegypt.edu

Sociology
Values, Activism and the New Egypt

Sherif Abd El Azeem

shazeem@aucegypt.edu

Core Curriculum
Leadership and Civic Engagement in the New World

Anthony Leone

aleone@aucegypt.edu

Core Curriculum
Labor Economics

Nabila Al-Iskandarani

nabilais@aucegypt.edu

Economics
Labor Economics

Magda Assaad

m.assaad@aucegypt.edu

Economics
Principles and Practice of Teaching English

Suzanne Rizzo

srizzo@aucegypt.edu

Linguistic
Principles and Practice of Teaching English

Nagwa Kassabgy

nkassabgy@aucegypt.edu

Linguistics
Writing Children's Literature

Richard Hoath

rhoath@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition
Exploring Big Questions

Michelle Henry

mhenry@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition 
Civic Engagement: Writing for Social Change

Brooke Comer

brooke_c@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition 
Introduction to Engineering

Lamyaa El Gabry

lelgabry@aucegypt.edu

Engineering
Research Writing

Mark Mikhael

mrmikhael@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition 

 

   
Course Title Professor and Email Department
Skills in Development Practice

Ibrahim El Nur

ielnur@aucegypt.edu

Political Science
Future of Life of Planet Earth and Beyond

Alaa Ibrahim

ai@aucegypt.edu

Physics
Personal Growth and Adjustment

Hala A. Abdel-Hak

halaahak@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Community Psychology

Carie L. Forden

cforden@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Advanced Community Psychology

Mona Amer

monaamer@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Prevention and Intervention in Communities

Carie L. Forden

cforden@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Community Assessment and Program Evaluation 

Mona Amer

monaamer@aucegypt.edu

Psychology
Participatory Action Research

Lamia Bulbul

lamiabulbul@aucegypt.edu

Psychology/Sociology/Anthropology
Labor Economics

Nabila Al-Iskandarani

nabilais@aucegypt.edu

Economics
Labor Economics

Magda Assaad

m.assaad@aucegypt.edu

Economics
Labor Economics

Mona Said

mona_said@aucegypt.edu

Economics
Human Rights and Wrongs: An Interdisciplinary Perspective

Sulaf E. Ahmed Taha

sulaf@aucegypt.edu

Core Curriculum
Principles and Practice of Teaching English

Suzanne Rizzo

srizzo@aucegypt.edu

Linguistics
Research Writing: Comparing Cities

Mark Mikhael

mrmikhael@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition
Writing Children's Literature

Yasmine Motawy

ymotawy@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition
Problematics in Cultural Landscapes

Brooke Comer

brooke_c@aucegypt.edu

Rhetoric and Composition