Home page
A man with white hair in a dark suit laughs while holding a microphone

Scholar of the Year: Tarek Shawki

January 16, 2024

University Counselor Tarek Shawki has been recently named Scholar of the Year by the Association of Egyptian-American Scholars. 

This recognition is granted annually to prominent Egyptian scholars who made intellectual contributions throughout their careers, enriching and advancing Egypt’s scientific mission. Previous recipients of the award include Zahi Hawass, Egypt’s former minister of antiquities; Mostafa El Sayed, Regents’ emeritus professor at Georgia Tech’s School of Chemistry and Biochemistry; Hany El Nazer, consultant dermatologist and former president of Egypt’s National Research Center; Isis Ghali,  pediatrics professor and researcher of pediatric endocrinology; and Mahmoud Sakr, president of Egypt’s Academy of Scientific Research and Technology.  

Shawki previously served as Egypt’s minister of education and technical education (2017-2022), as well as chair of the Specialized Presidential Council for Education and Scientific Research and secretary-general of the Presidential Specialized Councils, both in Egypt. At AUC, he was dean of the School of Sciences and Engineering for three years and senior strategic adviser to the University president for education and outreach.  

The Association of Egyptian American Scholars was established in the United States and Canada in 1973 to create a forum for North American-Egyptian scholars, facilitating dialogue and promoting partnerships with their Egyptian counterparts through mutual scholarly endeavors and annual conferences that contribute to Egypt’s scientific and cultural development.