Midyear Commencement 2017; View Photos

The midyear commencement ceremony saw the graduation of 528 bachelor’s degree candidates, of whom 80 graduated with honors, 75 with high honors and 69 with highest honors. Master’s degrees were awarded to 201 candidates at the graduate commencement, and three students received their PhDs.

To view photos of the graduate commencement, click here

To view photos of the undergraduate commencement, click here

Distinguished students at the undergraduate commencement were recognized for their achievements. The President’s Cup and the Mohamed EL Beleidy Academic Award, given to the student with the highest GPA, was presented to Ola Gamal Elsaid, who studied mechanical engineering. Radwa Hamed Mohamed, who majored in computer engineering and electronics and communications engineering, received both the Parents Association Cup, presented to a student who has demonstrated unusual capability in blending academic achievement with a major contribution to student activities, and the Nadia Younes Award for Public and Humanitarian Service. The Omar Mohsen Athletic Achievement cup was presented to Roshdy Khaled Roshdy, petroleum engineering graduate.

Other awards included the Ahmed El Mehallawi Family Award, which was given to Basma Mohamed Zaki, an accounting major, and the Student Government Cup was given to both Saamer Mohamed Salem, who majored in petroleum engineering, and Hashim Ibrahim Ibrahim, who majored in business administration and accounting. In addition, the Dr. Ahmed Abdel Rahman El Sawy award, presented to the student with the highest grade point average in the engineering department who has been a Public School Scholarship recipient, was given to Amr Youssef Osman, who studied electronics and communication engineering.

Among the student awards distributed at the midyear commencement ceremony was the first annual Valerie Farag Music Award, presented to Mohamed Basiouny Abou Qersh, mechanical engineering and music technology student.

At the graduate commencement, the Fadel Assabghy Award for Scholarly Excellence, named after the late Professor Fadel Assabghy, who served as professor of physics, dean of the School of Sciences and Engineering, and founding director of the Yousef Jameel Science and Technology Center, was presented to Shaimaa Hegazy for her master's thesis in computer science, “Fuzzy Logic Traffic Signal Controller Enhancement Based
on Aggressive Driver Behavior Classification," supervised by Associate Professor Mohamed Moustafa. The Medhat Haroun Award for Scholarly Excellence, named after the late Professor Medhat Haroun, who served as provost, professor of construction engineering, and dean of the School of Sciences and Engineering, was given to Mohamed Sameer Afifi for his master's thesis in construction engineering, “Internal Curing of High-Performance Concrete Using Lightweight and Recycled Aggregates,” supervised by Professor Mohamed Nagib Abou-Zeid.