FYP

First-Year Program (FYP)

The First-Year Program is a year-long orientation program for new undergraduate students designed to:

  • Facilitate the transition from high school to college life
  • Prepare students for AUC's educational opportunities and student responsibilities
  • Integrate new students into the intellectual, cultural, and social life on campus

The FYP orientation is mandatory for all first-year and transfer students. For those students who are unable to attend, AUC makes alternative arrangements that need to be fulfilled within the first six weeks of the semester.

FYP Pillars

Teamwork Skills

Academics and Development

The academics and development pillar is responsible for easing students into their first-year experience, both academically and through personal development. This is done through projects that develop practical life skills and theoretical learning and allow students to prepare for dealing with the challenges that arise upon transitioning into University.

Improve Critical Thinking

Engagement

The engagement pillar is responsible for engaging first-year students socially by planning and supervising initiatives that help students in gaining a sense of their surrounding community, integrating themselves in it as an essential component in University life.

FYP in Action

  • Goal 1: Students will understand and engage AUC's liberal arts education system

    Outcomes

    • Students will learn the benefits of the liberal arts tradition and understand the requirements and academic expectations of AUC’s core curriculum.
    • Students will learn the academic and personal benefits of studying abroad and where to learn more about integrating an international experience into their educational plan.
    • Students will choose and participate in co-curricular activities to build a holistic educational experience.

     

    Goal 2: Students will participage in a culture of community

    Outcomes

    • Students will engage in and reflect on a common, University-wide experience.
    • Students will establish connections with faculty, peer advisors, and student life professionals.
    • Students will explore opportunities to be involved in campus programs and activities and develop a sense of belongingness to and responsibility for the AUC community.
    • Students will learn where to find, read and understand AUC policies.
    • Students will learn about the concept of diversity and practice skills needed to be able to listen to and discuss other perspectives.

     

    Goal 3: Students will learn skills that promote academic and professional growth

    Outcomes

    • Students will practice skills needed to develop critical thinking, research and study skills.
    • Students will explore academic interests and career pathways.
    • Students will learn about academic integrity and how to engage campus resources that provide assistance with academic questions and challenges.
    • Students will learn how to engage campus resources that promote fitness and well-being.
    • Students will articulate verbally and in writing their overall academic development and professional growth they gained from their first year program.
  •  

    Name 

    Title

    Email

      Ahmed Berri FYP Vice President  berri@aucegypt.edu
      Ahmed Halawa FYP Chief Student Leader halawaa@aucegypt.edu
      Ahmed Hesham FYP Fundraising Director ahmedheshamdardir@aucegypt.edu
      Ahmed Saad Logistics and Marketing Associate Director ahmed-saad@aucegypt.edu
      Ahmed Sherif Edris FYP Treasurer ahmed_sherif@aucegypt.edu
      Ahmed Wael Academics Director ahmedwaelbakr@aucegypt.edu
      Amina Elghazali FYP Sessions and Workshops General Manager  aminaelghazali@aucegypt.edu
      Asmaa Samir FYP Engagement Director  asmasamir@aucegypt.edu
      Aya Harharah FYP Branding Director ayaharharah@aucegypt.edu
      Ayten Emam FYP Experience General Manager aytenemam23@aucegypt.edu
      Bassel Halabi FYP Human Resources General Manager  basselhalabi17@aucegypt.edu
      Carol Zaki Social and Cultural Director carolzaki@aucegypt.edu
      Dina Wahdan FYP President  dinawahdan@aucegypt.edu
      Engy Ghoneim Fundraising Director engyghoneim@aucegypt.edu
      Farah Diaa Fundraising Director farahdiaayoussef@aucegypt.edu
      Fareedah Amro Radi FYP Community Service Responsibility General Manager fareedahradi@aucegypt.edu
      Farid Hani Academic Director faridhani300@aucegypt.edu
      Habiba Rizk FYP Exclusive Show General Manager habibarizk@aucegypt.edu
      Hanin Sedky Logistics and Marketing Director haninsedky@aucegypt.edu
      Haya Ghanem FYP Human Resources General Manager  hayaghanem@aucegypt.edu
      Jana Makled Social and Cultural Director jana_makled@aucegypt.edu
      Jessica Botros Skills and Services Advisor jessicabotros@aucegypt.edu
      Malak Amer FYP Marketing General Manager  malakamer@aucegypt.edu
      Marwa Allam   marwa.allam@aucegypt.edu
      Menna Shebly FYP Events and Services General Manager mennashebly@aucegypt.edu
      Mohammed Al-jebzi FYP Events and Services General Manager jebzi@aucegypt.edu
      Mohamed Amer FYP Production Director  maamer01@aucegypt.edu
      Mohamed Essam FYP Production Director  mohamedessam99@aucegypt.edu
      Nada Morsy HR Director nadamorsy@aucegypt.edu
      Nadine Shalaby FYP Branding Director nadineshalaby@aucegypt.edu
      Nour Nada HR Director nournada@aucegypt.edu
      Nouran Hassan   nouran_hassan@aucegypt.edu
      Omar Abdelfattah FYP Encounter General Manager omarta7@aucegypt.edu
      Omar Elsalawi FYP Fundraising Director osalawi@aucegypt.edu
      Sabrina Eshra FYP Events and Services General Manager sabrinaeshra@aucegypt.edu
      Sarah Usama Elgindy FYP Academics and Development Director  sarahossama@aucegypt.edu
      Sherif Elsamra FYP Engagement Director  sherifelsamra@aucegypt.edu
      Yassen Mohamed FYP Encounter General Manager yassenmohamed@aucegypt.edu
      Youssef Diebbes FYP Marketing General Manager  youssefdiebbes@aucegypt.edu
      Ziad Osama FYP Designer General Manager ziadosamaomar@aucegypt.edu
  • Who are Peer Leaders?

    Peer leaders are a group of trained students who play an integral role in the first-year experience at AUC. They are a dynamic team that works under the supervision of the Office of the Vice President for Student Life. Their primary role is guiding, advising, and supporting you to successfully transition from high school into collegial life. Peer leaders will not only be present during times of orientation but also throughout the rest of the year.

    What is expected from me during the orientation?

    To attend all the sessions and answer the survey and the quiz questions.

    Do I have to attend the FYP Orientation if I am an international student?

    Yes, and if needed, you may be assigned a unique schedule that combines both schedules.

    Is the FYP Fall 21 Orientation online or on-ground?

    It's a hybrid. However, check your email regularly in case of any updates.

    Should we use the same zoom link throughout the entire orientation?

    Generally, yes, except for some sessions where you will be provided with a different zoom link.

    If I missed the orientation, could I attend it later (e.g., another semester)?

    No, you are only allowed to attend the orientation during the semester of your admission.

    What happens if I miss one of the FYP sessions?

    If you miss a session or more, a quiz will be administered through your blackboard account that you should pass with a score of 70% or more.

    What if I missed sessions but had a valid excuse?

    Make-up sessions will be offered to you provided that you submit proof justifying your absence.

    What happens if I miss my orientation because I'm a late acceptance?

    Make-up sessions will be provided to you.

    What happens if I do not pass the quiz?

    If you don't pass the quiz, you will be charged EGP 1500 on your student account, which may result in a financial hold.

    Why am I receiving a financial hold?

    You probably have not settled the EGP 1500 outstanding balance

    If I'm a full scholarship student, will that cover the FYP hold?

    No, scholarships don't cover the charges resulting from failing the FYP quiz.

    How can I apply to be part of the FYP Crew?

    Follow FYP social media accounts for any recruitment announcements.

     

  • The FYP recruits the FYP crew through the AUC portal in mid-June. The FYP recruits FYP peer leaders via the FYP Facebook and Instagram pages in mid-July. 

    Contact Information

    fyp@aucegypt.edu