Admin Building

عن الجامعة

تأسست الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة عام 1919، وهي مؤسسة تعليمية أمريكية رائدة توفر تعليماً متميزاً باللغة الإنجليزية. تعتبر الجامعة ملتقى لثقافات العالم ومنتدى للنقاش، حيث تعمل على مد أواصر التفاهم بين مختلف الثقافات وذلك لتنوع ثقافات وخلفيات الطلاب، والآباء، وأعضاء هيئة التدريس، والعاملين، وأعضاء مجلس الأوصياء، والخريجين، وداعميها الكرام.

 تقدم الجامعة 40 برنامجاً لطلاب البكالوريوس و52 برنامجاً لطلاب الدراسات العليا وبرنامجان للدكتوراة.  تستند المناهج الدراسية على التعليم المعتمد على النهج الليبرالي الذي يشجع الطلاب على التفكير بشكل نقدي وتحليلي لإيجاد حلول مبتكرة للمشكلات والتحديات التي تواجه المنطقة والعالم. كما تقدم الجامعة تعليماً مجتمعياً وعالمياً باللغة الإنجليزية لتلبية احتياجات الاقتصاديات الديناميكية المصرية والإقليمية .

تتضمن المرافق التعليمية بالجامعة مكتبة الجامعة وهي أضخم المكتبات في مصر، حيث تضم كتباً وإصدارات باللغة الإنجليزية. من مرافق الجامعة أيضاً ثلاثة مسارح حديثة، و أبحاث في مختلف التخصصات والمجالات. يعتبر حرم الجامعة بالقاهرة الجديدة، والذي يمتد على مساحة 260 فدان، استثماراً ضخماً في مستقبل القاهرة ومصر والمنطقة لما به من مرافق حديثة في مجالات الأبحاث، والتدريس، والتعلم مدى الحياة، والتواصل المجتمعي.

تعد الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة مؤسسة تعليمية مستقلة، غير هادفة للربح، وتمنح فرصاً متساوية لجميع أعضاء مجتمعها، وهي جامعة معترف بها في مصر والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية.

تعد الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة من مؤسسات التعليم العالي التي يتم التدريس بها باللغة الإنجليزية. وتلتزم الجامعة بتقديم خدمة تعليمية وبحثية على أعلى مستوى، وتوفر بيئة تعليمية متميزة وغير مسبوقة وخاصة فيما يتعلق بالتعليم المعتمد على النهج الليبرالي الذي يشجع الطلاب على التفكير بشكل نقدي وتحليلي وذلك في محيط يتسم بتعدد الثقافات. تغرس الجامعة في نفوس خريجيها ثقافة القيادة، ومفهوم التعلم مدى الحياة، والتعليم المستمر، وثقافة الخدمة العامة. تلتزم الجامعة أيضاً بالمساهمة بشكل كبير في عمليات التنمية الخاصة بمصر على وجه الخصوص، والمجتمع الدولي على وجه العموم.

تسعى الجامعة دوما أن تكون من بين الهيئات التعليمية المعترف بها في جميع أنحاء العالم  والمعروفة بالريادة في مجال التعليم والتزامها بمعيار التميز في مجال البحوث، والتعبير الإيجابي الخلاق، ومجال الخدمة العامة. تعمل الجامعة على تعزيز قوتها وثقلها لتصبح الجامعة الأولى في الشرق الأوسط ووجهة الاختيار الأولى للطلاب وأعضاء هيئة التدريس من كافة أنحاء العالم الذينيبغون الإندماج في الثقافات الأخرى بالإضافة إلى تلقي برامج أكاديمية متميزة، وتعلم آخر ما وصلت إليه آليات البحث، والتواجد في بيئة تزخر بعلماء من كافة التخصصات يتحلون بأسمى الأخلاق المهنية.

التميز

نطمح دائماً أن نكون الأفضل في كل ما نقدمه: سواء من ناحية التعليم، أو البحث، أو التعبير الخلاق، أو خدمة المجتمع، أو خدمة بعضنا البعض خلال تعاملاتنا اليومية.

التنوع

نسعى دائماً إلى معاملة جميع الأفراد على أسس من الكرامة والعدالة، وتعزيز قيم الاحترام وتفهم الآخر، واحترام التقاليد، والاستفادة من الخبرات السابقة.

المسئولية الاجتماعية

نعمل على طرح التحديات التي تواجه مصر، والمنطقة، والعالم بأسره، ونلتزم بتطويع إمكاناتنا العلمية وقدراتنا الخلاقة لتكون في مواجهة تلك التحديات، وتسخير تلك القدرات لتكون في خدمة مجتمعاتنا، بالإضافة إلى السعي دوماً ليكون لنا بصمة إيجابية في مجال التنمية وعالم الأعمال والبيئة والمجتمع.

التكامل

نؤمن بأن الأفراد دوما مسئولون مسئولية كاملة عن أفعالهم، ونحن كأفراد في مجتمع واحد تنعكس تصرفاتنا الشخصية بالطبع على الآخرين. ونكون بالطبع أقوى كمجتمع عندما نمعن النظر في النتائج المترتبة على قراراتنا وأفعالنا وعندما ندعم مفاهيم التكامل الأكاديمي بما يتضمنه من قيم العدالة، والمسئولية، والأمانة.

التعلم مدى الحياة

نؤمن أن البحث عن المعرفة، والفهم، والتنمية الشخصية والمهنية ينبغي أن يستمر مدى الحياة ولا يتوقف عند سن معين.

جودة التعليم

التدويل

التجربة الجامعية

الفاعلية المؤسسية

الابتكار

من خلال الدراسة بالجامعة، يتقن الخريجون المهاارت التالية:

مهارات مهنية

يتمكن خريجو الجامعة من دمج المعرفة القائمة على التخصص الدراسي مع التعليم الليبرالي ، حيث يصبح هؤلاء بارعون في أدوات تخصصهم وكذلك أدوات البحث والتعلم، واتخاذ القرارات التي تعكس أعلى معايير السلوك الأخلاقي والمهني، وفهم أهمية التعلم مدى الحياة.

مهارات الاتصال المتقدمة

يتميز خريجو الجامعة بإجادة اللغة الإنجليزية ، كما يتمكن خريجو الجامعة من التواصل باللغة العربية، وعلى تقبل التكيف مع الظروف الجديدة، والعمل بشكل مستقل وبالتعاون مع الآخرين، والعمل بفعالية كقادة.

التفكير النقدي

يبرع خريجو الجامعة  في استخدام التقنيات الحالية للوصول إلى المعلومات وتطبيق مهارات التفكير الكمي والتحليلي والنقدي لتحليل وتجميع المعلومات المركبة لحل المشكلات.

الكفاءة الثقافية

يتمتع خريجو الجامعة بفهم عميق وتقدير للثقافة والتراث المصري والعربي، فضلاً عن فهم الترابط الدولي، والتنوع الثقافي، ومراعاة القيم والتقاليد التي قد تختلف عن تقاليدهم. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يتمتع خريجو الجامعة بوعي جمالي بمختلف أنماط التعبير الفني البشري ولديهم قدرة على  التعاون والعمل بكفاءة في سياق متعدد الثقافات.

المواطنة الفاعلة

يتمتع خريجو الجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة الخدمة بتقدير فكرة الخدمة المقدمة لمجتمعهم المحلي وأيضاً مجتمعاتهم االإقليمية والدولية.

auc-new-cairo-campus

About AUC

Founded in 1919, AUC is a leading English-language, American-accredited institution of higher education and center of intellectual, social and cultural life of the Arab world. Its community of students, parents, faculty and staff, trustees, alumni and other generous sponsors represent more than 60 countries. The University stands as a crossroads for the world’s cultures and a vibrant forum for reasoned argument, spirited debate and understanding across the diversity of languages, facilities and human experiences.

The University offers 36 undergraduate, 44 master’s and two PhD programs rooted in a liberal arts education that encourages students to think critically and find creative solutions to conflicts and challenges facing both the region and the world. It also offers a globally recognized professional community-based education in English to meet the needs of the dynamic Egyptian and broader regional economies.

The University’s educational assets include the largest English-language academic library collection in Egypt, three modern theaters and 15 cross-disciplinary research centers. The University’s modern, 260-acre New Cairo campus constitutes a visionary investment in the future of Cairo, Egypt and the region — a state-of-the-art facility for advanced research, innovative teaching, lifelong learning and civic engagement.

Chartered and accredited in the United States and Egypt, The American University in Cairo is an independent, not-for-profit, equal-opportunity institution.

AUC is a premier English-language institution of higher learning. The University is committed to teaching and research of the highest caliber, and offers exceptional liberal arts and professional education in a cross-cultural environment. AUC builds a culture of leadership, lifelong learning, continuing education and service among its graduates, and is dedicated to making significant contributions to Egypt and the international community in diverse fields. Chartered and accredited in the United States and Egypt, The American University in Cairo is an independent, not-for-profit, equal-opportunity institution. AUC upholds the principles of academic freedom and is dedicated to excellence.

Our vision is to be a world‐class University internationally recognized for its leadership and excellence in teaching, research, creative expression and service. We  build on our existing strengths to become the leading University in the Middle East and the destination of choice for students and faculty members from around the world seeking in‐depth cultural exposure, combined with outstanding academic programs, cutting‐edge research, as well as an ethically engaged, diverse community of scholars.

Excellence
We continually strive to be among the best in all we do: in teaching, research, creative expression, service to our communities and service to each other in our daily interactions.

Diversity
We seek to treat all individuals with dignity and fairness, and to promote understanding and respect for diversity of perspectives, traditions and experiences.

Social Responsibility
We are committed to exploring the challenges that confront Egypt, the region and the world, and to using our intellectual and creative capabilities to address these challenges, serve our communities, and have a positive and sustainable impact on development, business, the environment and society.

Integrity
We believe that individuals are accountable for their actions, and, as members of a community, our individual actions have an impact on others. We are stronger as a community when we reflect on the consequences of our decisions and actions. The University upholds the principles of academic integrity, including fairness, accountability and honesty.

Lifelong Learning
We believe that the pursuit of knowledge, understanding, and personal and professional development should continue throughout one’s lifetime.

  • Quality of Education
  • Internationalization
  • AUC Experience
  • Institutional Effectiveness
  • Innovation

For more about strategic pillars, click here

Using AUC’s mission statement as a guide, the University developed a set of key institutional learning outcomes for all undergraduate students. These outcomes, which derive from institutional documents approved through the University’s formal governance structure, are achieved through an array of programs, courses, and other learning experiences. These learning outcomes must be communicated widely across campus.

Through their courses of study, AUC graduates should attain proficiency in:

Professional Skills
AUC graduates will synthesize discipline-based knowledge with a broad-based liberal arts education. They will be proficient in the tools of their discipline as well as the tools of research and learning; make decisions that reflect the highest standards of ethical conduct and professional behavior; and understand the importance of life-long learning.

Advanced Communication Skills
AUC graduates will be fluent in English and will be able to write and speak effectively in a variety of settings. AUC graduates will be able to communicate in Arabic, establish rapport in groups, be adaptable to new circumstances, work both independently and in collaboration with others, and function effectively as leaders.

Critical Thinking
AUC graduates will be independent learners, adept at using current technologies to access information and applying strong quantitative, analytical, and critical thinking skills to analyze and synthesize complex information to solve problems.

Cultural Competence
AUC graduates will have an understanding and appreciation of Egyptian and Arab culture and heritage, as well as an understanding of international interdependence, cultural diversity, and consideration for values and traditions that may differ from their own. In addition, AUC graduates will have an aesthetic awareness of the various modes of human artistic expression and will be able to collaborate effectively in a multicultural context.

Effective Citizenship
AUC graduates value service to their local community and to broader causes at the national and international level.

A Legacy of Change

Since 1919, AUC is the region’s leading English-language University and the center of the intellectual, social, and cultural life of the Arab world. Students and faculty are taking education beyond the classroom and out into the streets. Through innovative research, community engagement, women's empowerment and environmentally-sustainable thinking, the community at AUC is focused on changing Cairo and the world to be a better place to live.